Office- My Work Section, Part 2/3

Welcome back to Day 2 of my 3-part Work Section post. Let’s jump right in.

Planning my learning is huge part of my Filofax being functional. I have a semi-complicated system, but it totally works for me. I’ve designed pages of learning charts, this one is for shorter, smaller works- like song cycles, arias, or Oratorio pieces:

IMG_7063

I assign each part of the piece a “Tab”- if it’s a song cycle, like one of these, then each song is the section title. Then, each page within a section gets it’s own box on the chart. This way, I check off pages as they’re learned- oftentimes singers know the beginning of a piece better than the end because they always START their learning at the beginning. Makes sense, right? But not when you already know the first two pages- start on page 3! This way I can focus my learning time on the pages of music I know that I DON’T know and need the most work.

IMG_7063

Above is my learning chart* for Handel’s “Messiah” (in tabs) and then below is Libby Larsen’s “Try Me, Good King” cycle that I’m working on for a recital next year. The song titles are the “tabs” in that case. And once again, if you’ll notice, the color pen I use for these charts corresponds to the overview stick-in, the learning chart AND (you knew it was coming!) the color of highlighter I use in my actual score.
You already knew I was a nerd. πŸ™‚

*I also have a full-page version of this for opera roles- they often times range in over 200 pages of music to learn, and I need more tabs & more boxes for pages!

The other page I’m showing you today is my brainstorming page. I use this for planning Concerts, Recitals, and just general thinking about repertoire that is all grouped together in the same performance.
I didn’t design this page- although I probably should do one!- I just cut down a “Project” page that I found somewhere to fit my Personal Filofax.

IMG_7064

And decorated it!

That’s all for today.

Happy Organizing.

OperaGirl

3 thoughts on “Office- My Work Section, Part 2/3

  1. Really am enjoying your Work Section series — and am very impressed; never appreciated how much work performers do behind the scene.
    I had some problems following your descriptions. I think it’s because I am not familiar with the breakdown of songs, piece, page, cycle etc.. When you say “I assign each part of the piece a β€œTab”,” do you mean an actual tab as in a divider with a tab? Or is tab a music term?

    Thanks again. Heading over to read part 3 πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tina! “Tab” meaning is dependent on the piece of music I’m working on: it sometimes means a section of a larger piece (oratorio work, opera) and sometimes a song that is short (part of a cycle), and describes an actual, plastic tab- usually with a number so I can keep it all track in my head. It’s not a musical term. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

