Office- My Work Section, Part 1/3

In addition to using my Filofax for personal and family related information, I also use it for work. I had a request to discuss some of the things I make & use in my Filofax that help me do my job and seeing as it’s a HUGE part of how I keep organized, prepared & motivated, I’m going to try and oblige!

This section will be divided into three posts this week and there is a LOT of information and I think it’ll make more sense if I separate it into smaller pieces. 🙂
So bear with me.

The first thing you see in my Work Section is a list of all the upcoming jobs I have scheduled. This (of course) does not include things that come up at the last minute, which is often, but the things that I need to be aware of for long-term planning- like learning & memorizing 200+ pages of music in a foreign language for rehearsals starting 4 months from now.

IMG_7058

I realize the font is small, but the dates aren’t really important for you- it’s just an overview for me to know where I am and what’s coming next. I also print out other versions of this for my family so they have an overview of where I’ll be when! It gets confusing sometimes. Also- and this is important!- each gig or job has a color assigned to it. This becomes really important later.

The next thing I see are new for me: I’ve just changed my audition arias and I have made a very clear list of what I now offer. Underneath is a great quote I found that I love… Inspiring.

IMG_7060

This next chart might look REEEALLY unclear to others, but I’ll try and explain how it works for me: it is my practice schedule for the next six months.
Look confusing?! Stay with me!

IMG_7061

I design the calendar very small to fit loads of weeks. Each “star” is my personal deadline for memory/preparation. I then (using the color-coding system for each role/job) I track back for as many weeks or months that I think I’m going to need to be learning and memorizing a draw a colored line through those days. Once this is done, I don’t have to worry about spending enough time practicing for jobs- I just have to look at the date for each day, and it will tell me what I need to be working on. Simple!

 IMG_7061

The final page I’m showing you today is brand new to me. I’m trying to have more of a presence on social media for my new professional website and I designed this six-month calendar with all my scheduled posts. I’ve planned to post three days a week starting in Jan, 2014 and have already gone through what jobs are coming up next, brainstormed all sorts of ideas, and then varied the posts throughout the next 1/2 of this year. So I don’t have to come up with something creative on the days I’m supposed to post something: I just follow the idea I have set for that day and they will be relevant to what I’m working on (according to my schedule!), varied enough to be interesting, and covering all different mediums of networking. Whew!

IMG_7059

Thanks for sticking with me for Post 1 in this series- hope some of this has helped someone out there. 🙂

Happy Organizing!

OperaGirl

2 thoughts on “Office- My Work Section, Part 1/3

Leave a Reply

