Thrifty Filofaxing- Can to Canister

This post is more of a “Thrifty Office” category, but since most of my pen storage is for Filofaxing, and I’ve found this to be an awesome storage solution, I decided to include it anyway.  We are going to turn this:

IMG_3479

Into one of these:

IMG_3492

Ready?!

I love these Progresso Soup cans because of the size of the opening, and they aren’t too tall. It makes perfect pen storage, that is (basically) free and uniform!

First, remove the paper from the outside of the can:

IMG_3480

Then measure the width of the can. I do four inches across, because if you do it just to the edge then sometimes it is too wide- simply my personal preference. You can do any combination of paper, colors, etc. I like one single sheet all the way around:

IMG_3481

IMG_3482   IMG_3483

Lay the paper along the can and wrap around to be sure of the fit:

IMG_3485

Then trim off the excess- if you have too much paper overlapping it with create a “lumpy” look once you glue it all down (and keep in mind NO glueing yet!):

IMG_3486

Now, while holding the whole piece of paper in place, glue the bottom edge first. Then, still holding the paper firmly wrapped around the whole can, squeeze out a moderate amount of glue under the other end and gently press down:

IMG_3487 IMG_3488

I have tried tape and my glue runner,and the paper just doesn’t stay stuck. Or takes too long to dry. In any case, my preference is a glue gun.IMG_3490

And there you have it- a great pen cup for nothing!

IMG_3491

IMG_3493

I have loads of them and can change the paper out any time I wish- think seasonal- or create a “matching set” with your post-it dispenser- which I have done!

IMG_4424

Happy Organizing!

OperaGirl

Leave a Reply

